Photos of Employment: Sabra

At the 2012 Forum, everyone got to take a peek at our great photo series on employment. Representative Ross Hunter donated his time and energy to The Arc for this very special photo series showcasing people with intellectual and developmental disabilities in the workplace.

Sabra Quraishi 

Auburn School District

My name is Sabra Quraishi. I have worked for the Auburn School District for the past 13 years. I assist in kindergarten as a classroom paraprofessional.

I also have a role as a recess paraprofessional. For the past three years, I have been running our mileage program where we encourage the students to get exercise.  Our goal as a school is to walk 1,200 miles, the distance from Auburn to Disneyland.  As of the end of October, we have walked 110 miles.

Outside of work I like to shop, go to country music concerts, and cook with the assistance of my dad.  Every year on the Father’s Day weekend, I go with my family to Anacortes to join in the fun with the Father’s Network in which my dad has been involved for over 20 years. I sometimes go to the meetings to spend time with him. Every September, the Father’s Network has a kick-off breakfast at which my dad is the designated chef and I go to assist him as much as I can.

I would like to thank The Arc of King County and Representative Ross Hunter for the opportunity to be a part of this project.

Leave a Reply

